Setback….

Well we have a very very large setback….

I have a new friend and while she has a fair amount of horse experience, she is not aware and does not understand horse…

Si’Ann gave her not one but three warnings…

  1. ears back
  2. ears back
  3. ears back – attack

I was present thank goodness. I wasnt far away only a metre from the pair of them, she was busy talking to her dad, I said watch yourself (1st), watch out for Si’Ann(2nd), to late (3rd) I went after the mare as she went for the kill, she saw me before she made any contact with the person and lit off across the paddock with me after her.

I have discussed this with a few trainers and also had an extremely compitent friend come out to assess her and I have run my thoughts about what the next step in the journey is.

Those I have discussed this problem with are

Diana Western – Hassanemisis Arabians (my friend)

Erwin Van Vliet – Tales of the Western Ranch

John Oleary – Mr Horseproblems

the letter to John Oleary and his answer

Hi John,

Have been reading your site for quite a while. I agree re the catalyst episode, absolute crap article.

Gona be a long one lol

I took the time to finally watch your tap videos on youtube. I have been watching endos for quite a while. But never
Thought I would even be thinking or needing to implement them.

Being an experienced horse person with timing and feel, I can sort 98% of things out. I am a thinker before I make
My next move and will sit back and take the time to work out what might work and what wont.

After seeing your first ‘The Tap’ video, I’m fairly sure I will have to go there and implement it… I have layed a horse down before
But it was more a case of teaching my horse to play dead so it was an extensive process for him. My girl is going to be different.

To the girl, I know her full history, till the age of 9 months she was in a safe and reasonable horse home. At 9 months of age she was sent to a new home. Here at this home she learnt to not only defend herself, but make a preemptive strike against any human without horsemanship knowledge. She would strike, lunge at you with mouth wide open in full attack, gallop past and rip the lead out of your hand then kick on the way past and crack the air with her feet if you tried to brush past the girth. I have fixed all of these ‘WITH ME’ after rescuing her back at 20 months of age, with a vet visit within 3 hrs of her coming home and given a 50/50 chance of survival…

Well she is still here 2 years later to tell the tale, but here lies my problem.

This mare is now fine with me, she is fine with any horse person who is a horseman and pays attention to her body language.

But we had an incident, where I had a horse person around who had no idea about horse body language, she missed the ears back the first time (should have sent the mare packing out of the herd) missed them a second time and on the third time, the horse went in for the attack, ears back teeth bared and out for the chew, being alert myself, by the time the mare pinned her ears the third time I was after her, and sent her off from the herd (the human being is fine and well, just got a fright), problem was she still pegs this person as a twit in her eyes, and I fear that anyone in her personal space that is the same might be in danger.

My thoughts on my situation are that I might still have to resort to the tap eventually, I’ve still got a thing or two up my sleeve to try first.

So to the crux of my thoughts and a question for you. If I do end up tapping her, will I need to have maybe the horse person she tried to get over and get her to take part in the handling of the mare while down? Do you think this might be a crucial part of the process or just use anyone so that she realises its not just me to be alert and respectful of?

Thanks in advance
Liesl


Johns answer – Could it be that this person has to be always around? If so, yes, have them present but if they don’t need to be involved with the Horse, keep then right away from her.  Just having the person standing by would be enough. Keep us informed.

My plan of action for the mare, is to get her started under saddle, get some leg work under her, then with the help of the 2 experienced people above, will expose her to a couple of situations to see how she handles it.

If there is any sort of violent reaction, I will then take the next and last step of Dropping her using the Endorphin Tap, developed by Paul “Endo” Williamson aka Endospink

One thought on “Setback….

Leave a Reply

